Malaga

dsc_0045

My first steps in Spain were getting off the plane at Malaga Airport. In all honesty, I don’t remember the airport very much. We had just got off an early morning flight, so I was still half-asleep.

We took a taxi to the apartment, which was just outside of Malaga centre. By the end of the taxi ride, I was full of excitement and ready to explore the city. Instead, I ate and then fell asleep on the sofa.

After a nice meal and rest, we went out to see Malaga City and tried to find the beach. We asked a passerby how far it was to the beach. His reply? 15-20 minutes. After 20 minutes of walking, we asked someone else, who also said 15 minutes. In the end, we decided to eat ice cream, roam the city for a while and return back to the apartment.

dsc_0019
Washing lines

dsc_0017

The apartment was in a traditional high-rise located in a residential area. All flats seemed to have one side with a view out to the city, and the other into the centre of the block. The central area was a zig-zag of washing lines which worked with a pulley system. I’m not sure if this is a common sight in hotter countries, but I had never seen anything like it.

dsc_0050

From the short time I spent in Malaga City, I got a really positive feel of the place. For Muslims travellers, there is a big mosque where you can meet local Muslims.

The city centre was vibrant, and although it seemed to cater heavily for tourists, still had an authentic feel to it. I haven’t given you as much insight into Malaga as I’d like, as it was mainly the first stop to just relax, however, I would visit again if I had the chance to explore more.

For more pictures from Malaga, check out my Instagram.

The next stops on my Andalusian Adventure is where the real fun starts. Follow my blog, or social media for updates!

One thought on “Malaga

Leave a Reply

